On Being a Woman in India: Initial Reflections

(Trigger warning) This article is beautiful, real, and a common experience of women around the world.

Svaast Ke Liye

I knew i would write about this topic one day while here, but I thought I would wait until I could put more experience and knowledge behind it. Recent events have made me feel compelled to write about this now. Two days ago, a 22 year old photojournalist was gang raped in Mumbai. It was at 6 pm and she was with a male colleague; a seemingly safe situation. As a 22nd year old who is about to embark on a 9 month independent research project in Mumbai, the story hit a little too close to home. I try to tell myself that this is an isolated case blown up by the media. I would be lying to you if I said this didn’t make me feel scared. I’ve specifically decided to do work in Mumbai because I’ve been told it is a safer city for women. Now, I’ve been…

View original post 1,099 more words

Leave a Reply

